Advancing Community Cohesion

Confirmed Opening Address Speaker:

His Excellency General The Honourable Sir Peter Cosgrove AK MC, Governor-General of the Commonwealth of Australia, will deliver keynote address on Wednesday, 15 July 2015.

Confirmed Plenary Speakers:

  • Prof Scott Holmes, Acting Vice Chancellor, University of Western Sydney

  • Senator the Hon Concetta Fierravanti-Wells, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Social Services

  • Professor Peter Shergold AC, Chancellor, University of Western Sydney

  • Prof Andrew Markus, FASSA, Monash University

  • Mr Michael Pezzullo, Secretary, Australian Government Department of Immigration and Border Protection

  • Associate Professor Anne Aly, Curtin University

  • Deputy Commissioner Nick Kaldas APM, New South Wales Police Force

  • Dr Tim Soutphommasane, Race Discrimination Commissioner, Australian Human Rights Commission

  • Senator the Hon Kim Carr, Shadow Minister for Higher Education, Research, Innovation and Industry and Shadow Minister Assisting the Leader for Science

  • Mr Michael Ebeid, CEO & Managing Director, Special Broadcasting Service

  • Acting Commander Richard Stanford APM, Manager Counter Terrorism Engagement and Operations Support, Australian Federal Police

  • Prof Kevin Dunn, Dean, School of Social Sciences & Psychology, University of Western Sydney

  • Mr Tim Wilson, Human Rights Commissioner, Australian Human Rights Commission

  • Ms Hanifa Deen, Author and Chair, Institute of Cultural Diversity, Editor, Sultana's Dream

  • Prof Farida Fozda, University of Western Australia